The Biggest Little Surprise

Big Brothers Big Sisters

10150625_276068345901973_795438343_n

 

Little Sister Marissa and Big Sister Susan have been together for more than 3 years. Here is Susan writing about the experience.

What does it mean when your children are grown and living on their own but you still stock Blue G2, Smuckers PB&J’s, Hershey’s chocolate syrup and whole milk?  You randomly pick up girlie stickers, paint brushes and High School Musical games?  You might just be a Big Sister like me.

Raising my three boys, there were definite gaps in my teen girl IQ. My Little Sister is educating me. I know the words to every Taylor Swift song. I am knowledgeable about all things Monster High. I have someone to try out crafts and art projects with. I have my own Sous-chef and baker’s assistant. I have an enthusiastic tennis and racquetball partner.

My Little Sister looks up to my boys and often asks where they are and how they are doing. When they are home for the weekend she wants to stay for dinner and quiz their girlfriends about relationships, in a way only she can. She wonders what my husband is doing when he’s not home. She even got over her fear of cats and jokes around with Miss Pearl.

In my family, we each have a drawer (called our “nook”) on the first floor where we can throw our junk, so my Little Sister has her own drawer at my house. It is full of pictures, games, art supplies, puzzles, scrapbooking materials, and any odds and ends (think pinecones and ribbon) I deem of possible interest to a creative young woman. There is a piece of blue tulle in there, and she regularly wraps it around her head or waist and becomes a DJ or Karaoke star.

We are into our fourth year as a BBBS match. I know I am becoming more a part of her life because she wants me to attend her choir concerts and calls me up to let me know she got First at her bowling tournament. Her Big Sister before me died at a young age (my age), and she speaks of her often. We spent one afternoon locating her marker at the cemetery, and have been back once more to visit. Sometimes people ask me how long I plan on being a Big Sister. My Little Sister is 13, so my math says in five more years until she will be 18. I’m all in if she is.

001

One thought on “The Biggest Little Surprise

  1. You have a very special little sister in Marissa! I spent a few years with her at Wee Care Day Care and needless to say, she has a place in my heart! I also knew her former Big Sister, Tena. That woman had love for Marissa that words cannot describe. I feel a sense of peace knowing that Marissa now has you in her life!

Leave a Reply

